posted May 23, 2011, 5:56 PM by Alok Sharma   [ updated May 23, 2011, 6:39 PM ]
What is Panchak?

Panchak is the period of five days in each month when Moon transits through Aquarius (Kumbh) and Pisces (Meen). During this period no auspicious deeds are recommended. 

The period is named "Panchak" because during this time Moon transits through five constellations:

1. Dhanishta (last leg)
2. Shatbhisha
3. Purva Bhadrapada
4. Uttar Bhadrapada
5. Revati 

What not to do in Panchak?

Any auspicious or inauspicious deed is prohibited in this period of five days. Well, the latter is prohibited everyday!

Five specific deeds are especially prohibited. They are:

1. Marriage
2. Cremation of dead body
3. Building/maintenance of a roof
4. Buying/decorating the bed
5. Purchasing fuel

Apart from these major tasks, other minor tasks are also prohibited. If confused, ask you family astrologer or consult a professional astrologer. Click here to know more.

What happens when you perform the prohibited tasks during Panchak?

Everything in Panchak is connected to number 5. So, if you perform a prohibited task during Panchak, you will have to repeat it 5 times! So best that one avoids them.

What can you do in Panchak?

You can perform your daily tasks which carry you through the day. You can of course pray, perform puja and religious rights. 

Again, when in doubt, ask an astrologer. Click here for more information. 

When is the next Panchak? How will I know about it ahead of time?

May 24 - 29, 2011
June 20 - 25, 2011
July 17 - 22, 2011
August 14 - 19, 2011

Panchak start and end at specific times, depending on your location. Submit you email here, and we will remind you in advance with start and end times.